Rickman

TexasAlanRickman-InDemand2000AC-3DVD0404

Is it cool with everybody if I head back to bed for the rest of the month?

First Bowie, now Rickman – this month is just incredibly sad so far. It’s also making me think and I don’t have time for that right now! So I’m going to wax lyrical on my top three (four actually because I just thought of one as I was typing that) favourite Rickman moments, then I’m going for a hot bath.

I know I’m not alone in my pain and despite what some naysayers are saying on Twitter about the very public outpouring of grief for both men, I think it’s a beautiful thing. Imagine leaving such a legacy behind you?

I hope Alan’s family are all together. I read that he’s been happily married for 50 years, isn’t that the sweetest? I just can’t imagine how his wife must be feeling.

Disclaimer: I’m not a Potterhead so you won’t find Snape on this list. Not that I didn’t like him in the role or anything, just that it didn’t speak to me in the way the below did. 

truly_madly_deeply

Jamie in Truly Madly Deeply (1990)

Ugh just typing that makes me choke. This film taught me that grief can be very very ugly and snotty – but still beautiful AF. Jamie and Nina (Juliet Stevenson) are very much in love when Jamie passes away. Before Nina even begins to process her absolute heartbreak, Jamie returns in his ghostly form and they are reunited.

I wasn’t that old when I first saw this and I always thought of it as the ‘English Ghost‘ (released in the same year) but sorry, Patrick, this film is so much better in all it’s tear soaked glory. The leads are perfect together in every way as they learn to finally let one another go – and you’ll bawl until you can’t bawl no more. FACT.

rickman_1894941i
Sheriff George of Nottingham in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (1991)

A year later, Rickman stole the show in RH:PoT, one of the most enjoyable films of my adolescence. And you’re damn right I can quote it word for word.

As the naughty naughty Sheriff of Nottingham, our boy was pure delight. I can only imagine that he was having the time of his life in this pantomime-villlian role which is really compelling to watch. One of his best lines, spat out with pure vitriol, will always be one of my favourites: “Locksley, I’m gonna cut your heart out with a spoon!”

See also: “[to a wench] You. My room. 10:30 tonight. [to another wench] You. 10:45… And bring a friend.”

Love-Actually

Harry in Love Actually (2003)

I just saw this a month ago and it got me again, as it does every time: that moment Karen (Emma Thompson) figures out her husband Harry is almost definitely cheating on her. She goes upstairs and has a little cry to Joni, before pulling herself together and getting on with it like a motherfucking boss. Every. Time.

That’s Love Actually to me and what brings me back every single year (I’ve mentioned my annual viewing with my BFF Panda). But that scene could not be without potential love rat Rickman and he’s incredible sexy in this role.

A cheating swine but sexy, nonetheless.

tumblr_m8jmu18MQ91r1m46ro1_500
Super Hot Tangoing Businessman in Texas’ In Demand music video (2000)

Panda and I always reference this as her ‘happy place’ and this is the real kicker. Rickman tangos with beautiful Sharleen Spiteri on a petrol station forecourt and we swooned. Like proper swooned.

(There’s this bit, with this look).

What a gentleman. What charisma.What a fucking waste of one of the greatest actors and voices of his generation. 

View here for yourself here:

Enjoy!

RIP sweet Rickman ❤

4 thoughts on “Rickman

  1. Dear 2016,

    Stop being a C**T.

    I wanted to put Hans Gruber on the list but honestly, although I love him in the role, I still rate the above move. Love Actually isn’t even a joke entrant, I bloody love it.

    Maybe when it’s not so fresh we can so a Rickman month? Or maybe a month of our favourite actors who’ve passed away. I vote: PSH, Robin Williams and James Gandolfini.

    xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment